Collocated with

2005 International Workshop on Description Logics - DL2005

Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
July 26-28, 2005

Ian Horrock's photos from DL and IJCAI
Uli Sattler's photos from DL

Sponsored by
[DL] [DL]

Call for Participation

The 2005 International Workshop on Description Logics continues the tradition of international workshops devoted to discussing developments and applications of knowledge representation formalisms based on Description Logics. It is the 18th in the series of international workshops.

DL2005 will be co-located with IJCAI 2005 (the Nineteenth International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence, 30 July to 5 August 2005), and will take place from the 26th to 28th July 2005 in the National e-Science Centre in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Call for Papers

We invite submissions of technical papers of 8 pages. Authors of accepted technical and position papers will be invited to present their papers at the workshop. Accepted technical papers will be included in the informal conference proceedings as normal papers (8 pages) or long papers (12 pages). We plan to make the conference proceedings available electronically via CEUR.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline (extended): Noon, April 18, 2005 BST
Notification of acceptance: May 30, 2005
Final version due: June 26, 2005
DL'05 Workshop: July 26-28, 2005


We invite contributions on all aspects of Description Logics, including but not limited to:

Submission Details

Interested parties are invited to submit a technical paper not exceeding 8 pages that has been prepared according to the instructions found in submission.tex. In case you cannot use LaTeX, you can use the instructions found in submission.ps. To submit your paper, please follow the instructions at the Submission Page for DL 2005. In case you have problems with electronic submissions, please contact one of the workshop organizers.


Accepted papers are printed in the workshop proceedings. The proceedings will be electronically published as CEUR-Workshop Proceedings Volume 147 at http://CEUR-WS.org/. At the workshop, a hard copy of the proceedings will be handed out to the participants.

Accepted Papers and Posters

Accepted papers and posters can be found here.

Workshop Program

The preliminary workshop program can be found here.

Invited Speakers

Among the invited speakers are

Thomas Eiter
Faculty of Informatics
Vienna University of Technology
Vienna, Austria

Robert Stevens
Department of Computer Science
University of Manchester
Manchester, UK

Ron Brachman
Information Processing Technology Office
Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
Arlington, VA, USA

Registration Information

Please note that, in contrast to previous DL workshops, registration is open to everybody, and not by invitation only.
Registration fees:

Full-time students: 90 pounds
Regular participants: 160 pounds
Late registration (from June 26, 2005): 200 pounds

The registration fee includes coffee breaks, three lunches and a social dinner at Howies Waterloo Place.

Please register online here. The registration is a two-stage process carried out by the National e-Science Centre, where in the first step you can have your hotel booked. A confirmation of this booking is, however, only possible after payment in the second step.

Student Travel Awards

We offer a limited number of student travel awards to help young researchers attend DL2005. We invite full time students with an accepted DL paper to apply for this grant before June 15, 2005. Applications should include a brief CV, a student ID or other evidence of professional status, and a letter of support from their supervisor. Please send your application to Uli Sattler, School of Computer Science, University of Manchester, Oxford Road, Manchester M13 9PL, UK, to arrive by June 15, 2005.

Local Information and Accommodation

The DL'05 workshop will be held in National e-Science Centre, Edinburgh, United Kingdom. Please notice that accommodation can be arranged with the National e-Science Centre when registering online; please cf. the registration information above.

Program Committee (in alphabetical order)

Carlos Areces
INRIA Lorraine, France
Alessandro Artale
Faculty of Computer Science
Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Giuseppe De Giacomo
Dipartimento di Informatica e Sistemistica
Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy
Volker Haarslev
Computer Science Department
Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Ian Horrocks
Department of Computer Science
University of Manchester, UK
Holger Knublauch
Stanford Medical Informatics
California, USA
Carsten Lutz
Department of Computer Science
Technical University Dresden, Germany
Maarten Marx
Informatics Institute
Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Ralf Möller
Technical University Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
Bijan Parsia
Institute for Advanced Computer Studies
University Of Maryland, USA
Peter Patel-Schneider
Network Data and Services Research Department
Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA
Ulrike Sattler
Department of Computer Science
University of Manchester, UK
Luciano Serafini
Centro Per la Ricerca Scientifica e Tecnologica
Istituto Trentino di Cultura, Italy
David Toman
School of Computer Science
University of Waterloo, Canada
Holger Wache
Faculty of Sciences
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Frank Wolter
Department of Computer Science
University of Liverpool, UK

Organizing Committee

Ian Horrocks
Department of Computer Science
University of Manchester
Manchester, UK

Ulrike Sattler
Department of Computer Science
University of Manchester
Manchester, UK

Frank Wolter
Department of Computer Science
University of Liverpool
Liverpool, UK


Dirk Walther, 21 August 2005